concert series | no time to waste

NTTW 1- Eric Silberger pic_Squarespace.jpg


Friday, February 23
7:30 pm

Doors open at 7pm


Eric Silberger, Violin


J.S. Bach
Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004

- Intermission -

Niccolò Paganini
     No. 1 in E Major
     No. 5 in A Minor
     No. 15 in E Minor
     No. 24 in A Minor

about the artisT

From prestigious concert halls around the world to an Icelandic volcano, violinist Eric Silberger’s performances have been described by critics as “spine-tingling…astonishing” (The Guardian), “dazzling virtuoso playing” (The Washington Post), “impeccable level of playing, a wonderful musician” (The Strad). He is a prize winner of the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition and the Michael Hill International Violin Competition in 2011. Upcoming highlights of Eric’s 17/18 concert season include solo performances with the Mariinsky Orchestra in Russia with Maestro Valery Gergiev as well as a performance in Spain with the Castile and Leon Symphony Orchestra among others. 

Previous performances have also included concerts with the St. Petersburg Philharmonia, Mariinsky Orchestra, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Chamber Orchestra of the Mariinsky Theatre, London Philharmonia, Danish National Symphony, Orquesta Sinfónica de México, Munich Chamber Orchestra, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, and the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, among others. Conductor collaborations have included Lorin Maazel, Valery Gergiev, Dimitri Kitajenko, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Donald Runnicles, Robin Ticciati, and others. 

Eric received a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Columbia University and a Master of Music degree from The Juilliard School. Mentors have included Glenn Dicterow, Itzhak Perlman, Pinchas Zukerman, Robert Mann, and Dorothy Delay, among others. He was also mentored by Maestro Lorin Maazel.

Eric plays on a rare J.B. Guadagnini violin made in 1757 on generous loan from the Si-Yo Music Society Foundation Sau-Wing Lam collection.


The concert series No Time To Waste (NTTW) is presented by Moskowitz Bayse, in collaboration with Stephanie Yu. Solo marks the first in this series; it will be followed in the coming months by performances and premieres.